Cupcake Emergency – A Short Story

I simply love cupcakes. I can eat them anytime, anywhere.My favourite is of course, red velvet with cream cheese icing. I don’t know why, but eating cupcakes just makes me very, very happy. Every time we have cupcake sales in college (or anywhere, for that matter), I make it a point to pick up the company’s card or take down a number to call for orders.
So one evening, my cousin and I were craving for cupcakes. This was no ordinary craving, it was a gut-wrenching, brain-freezing, I-want-it I-need-it sort of craving. One step below a pregnant-woman-craving kind of craving. There were no good places that sold cupcakes around, but we just had to get some.
I ran upstairs to our bedroom, and pulled out the bunch of cards and numbers that I’d been collecting in my wallet. I spread them out on the bed, and picked the best. She was a college student, who made home deliveries. And the red velvets she made were absolutely beautiful, topped with thick cream cheese icing and cute, coloured sprinkles.
I ran down with her number in hand, and picked up the phone.
“So how many would you like?” she asked, moments later.
My cousin and I exchanged sheepish looks as I said, “Six?”
“Is this for someone’s birthday?”
“Um..No.”
“Okay, when shall I deliver them?”
“In a few hours?”
“Uh-” she sounded a bit taken aback. But then I guessed she heard the plea and urgency in my voice.
“Okay, then. Where should I get them?”
Five hours or so later, I was standing outside the house, pacing up and down. Our craving hadn’t abated, it had grown with the wait.
I was getting restless, when a car pulled up in front of me. A girl got out, a brown box in her hand. She looked at me and said my name questioningly. I nodded vigorously, smiling. “The cupcakes?”
“Yeah, got them!” She lifted the box in her hands.
“Thank you so much!” I paid her, took the box from her, and went inside. I couldn’t wait to open it and gorge.
My cousin’s eyes were shining when she opened the door. We kept the box on the table and opened the lid slowly.
There inside were six red velvet cupcakes, three topped with chocolate icing, and three topped with cream cheese icing. No sprinkles, but that was probably because of our last minute order.
We stared at them for a while, and then, without speaking, helped ourselves to one. I will never forget the joy I felt after taking that first bite. The moist, fresh cake and the thick creamy icing. Melting in my mouth. Ah, the glorious feeling of a craving satisfied.We ate in a happy, glowing silence, till there were no cupcakes left, and the table was littered with wrappers and our fingers were flecked with icing.
After even that was gone, we slumped in our seats,and sighed. I’d thought three cupcakes each would be a small number, but these were super filling and quite heavy. My cousin and I kept this incident confidential, it was our secret guilty pleasure.
I have eaten better cupcakes since then, but I will never forget how wonderful those cupcakes tasted to us on that day. They were the best, because that’s how it feels when a craving is satisfied.

Please do leave a reply!

